Heligolands coast from the sea

Heligoland, island on the high seas

60 km off Germany's North Sea coast lies Heligoland. For decades now, guests from all directions have been coming to this unique island to enjoy the unusual landscape and the peace and quiet. Pristine red rocks, a white sandy beach on the dune, blue-green sea and unspoiled nature with rare seabirds make up the special charm of Heligoland. Holidaymakers and day visitors can also stroll along the maritime mile, visit the colourful lobster stands, enjoy Heligoland specialities in the numerous restaurants or marvel at pictures and handcrafts by the island artists.

Peace and relaxation on Heligoland

Would you like to really recover and relax from everyday stress? Then Heligoland is the right holiday destination! On the island, not only does the North Sea wind blow your head clear, but there are also numerous wellness offers, from massages, sea silt treatments to saunas, everything is included. You can also relax on the beach of the bathing dune or while you walk along the "Klippenrandweg" and let your eyes wander over the North Sea.

Helgoline and the beach juwel lighthouse.

Flora & Fauna on Heligoland

basstoelpel in front of water and grass

Every year in spring, Heligoland becomes a unique bird paradise. Common Guillemots, Northern Gannets, Northern Fulmar, Common Petrel, Kittiwake and Razorbill gather on the Guillemot Rock to breed and rest on their way to their home areas. From the cliff edge path, you can observe the birds particularly well and study their individual characteristics. Meanwhile, several hundred seals lie on the dune and can be admired from only a few metres away.
The nature on Heligoland is also unique, many plant species can only be found here.

Fun & games on Heligoland

Heligoland also has a lot to offer for children. Whether swimming in the sea or in the outdoor pool, mini golf on the dunes or trampolining, the whole family will find something to do on the island. In summer there is also an open air cinema on the main island.
In case of bad weather you can also take part in bunker tours and learn about the history of Heligoland or have a look at the lobster station and diving centre.

Island tour with children on Heligoland
Impressions of Heligoland

Hochseeinsel Helgoland

60 km vor Deutschlands Nordseeküste liegt Helgoland. Seit Jahrzehnten kommen Gäste aus allen Himmelsrichtungen auf diese einmalige Insel, um die ungewöhnliche Landschaft und die Ruhe zu genießen. Urwüchsige rote Felsen, weißer Sandstrand auf der Düne, blau-grünes Meer und unverbrauchte Natur mit seltenen Seevögeln machen den besonderen Charme von Helgoland aus. Urlauber und Tagesgäste können außerdem die maritime Meile entlang bummeln, die bunten Hummerbuden besuchen, Helgoländer Spezialitäten in den zahlreichen Restaurants genießen oder Bilder und Kunsthandwerk der Inselkünstler bestaunen.

Ruhe und Entspannung auf Helgoland

Sie möchten sich mal richtig erholen und entspannen vom Alltagsstress? Dann ist Helgoland das richtige Urlaubsziel! Auf der Insel pustet nicht nur der Nordseewind den Kopf frei, es gibt auch zahlreiche Wellnessangebote, von Massagen, über Meeresschlick-Anwendungen bis zu Saunagängen ist alles dabei. Entspannen lässt es sich aber auch am Strand der Badedüne oder während man über den Klippenrandweg wandert und den Blick über die Nordsee schweifen lässt.

Flora & Fauna auf Helgoland

Jedes Jahr im Frühjahr wird Helgoland zu einem einzigartigen Vogelparadies. Auf dem Lummenfelsen sammeln sich Trottellummen, Basstölpel, Eissturmvogel, Dreizehenmöwe und Tordalk, zum Brüten und Rasten auf dem Weg in ihre Heimatgebiete. Vom Klippenrandweg aus kann man die Vögel besonders gut beobachten und ihre individuellen Besonderheiten studieren. Auf der Düne liegen unterdessen mehrere hundert Robben und können aus nur wenigen Metern Entfernung bestaunt werden.
Auch die Natur auf Helgoland ist einzigartig, viele Pflanzenarten gibt es nur hier.

Spiel & Spaß auf Helgoland

Auch für Kinder hat Helgoland viel zu bieten. Egal ob Schwimmen im Meer oder im Freibad, Minigolf auf der Düne oder Trampolinspringen, auf der Hochseeinsel findet die ganze Familie die richtige Beschäftigung. Im Sommer gibt es außerdem ein Open Air Kino auf der Hauptinsel.
Bei schlechtem Wetter kann man auch an Bunkerführungen teilnehmen und die Geschichte Helgolands kennenlernen oder einen Blick in Hummerstation und Tauchzentrum werfen.

Island tour with children on Heligoland
Eindrücke von Helgoland