welcome to sylt

Discover Art & Culture

Art & Culture on Sylt

Sylt has always been popular with artists. Whether writers, singers, actors, poets, painters or sculptors, everyone of rank and name used Sylt as a meeting place or source of inspiration. Even today, the North Sea island is still a stronghold of art and culture: numerous exhibitions and events by national and international artists are held every year at a wide variety of venues. Young artists can take advantage of the support and training opportunities on Sylt and thus shape their future on the island.

Handcrafts & Exhibitions

The east of Sylt is a true paradise for lovers of small handcraft shops. Here you will find many goldsmiths and pottery workshops, but also leather manufactures can be found on Sylt. Browse through the shops and find a wonderful unique piece as a souvenir of your holiday on Sylt.

You can find current exhibitions of artworks of all kinds on this page: www.sylt.de/ausstellungen

Kai Kestner LOVE sign with padlocks at the harbour of List
logo naturgewalten sylt

Museums on Sylt

From a historical point of view there is also a lot to discover on Sylt. How did the people of Sylt achieve their prosperity in the 17th and 18th centuries? How did people used to live in the houses on the mudflats? And what does the archway at the entrance to the Sylt Museum actually consist of? These questions and many more can be answered in the museums on the island.
There are also some natural history museums and exhibitions on Sylt. From the nature trail to the adventure centre, everything is represented. The Erlebniszentrum Naturgewalten directly at Lister harbour offers exciting insights into the flora and fauna of the island and the North Sea.

Art & Culture on Heligoland

Heligoland also has a lot to offer in the area of art & culture. Artists have always enjoyed the peace and quiet on the island and have been inspired by nature and the unique atmosphere.

Concerts & Museums

Every year in the main season, numerous concerts of classical and contemporary music take place on Heligoland in the North Sea Hall and the Music Pavilion. Information on current concerts can be found in the notice boxes or at the Heligoland tourist information office.
The "Museum Helgoland" shows the history of Heligoland, the life of the islanders and changing exhibitions. In the museum courtyard, replicas of the lobster stands can be viewed, and each stand has a different exhibition.

 

Stage view during Music Cruise 2019
shops in different colours on Heligoland

Handcrafts in the lobster stalls

Art from the Heligoland island artists can be purchased in the colourful lobster stands, among other places. Browse through the small shops and find unique pieces, special jewellery or beautiful decorative items. Works of art can also be purchased in the shops in the centre.
If you need a break from browsing and discovering, you can relax in one of the cafés near the lobster stands.

©Kai Kestner ©Kai Kestner

Kunst & Kultur entdecken

Kunst & Kultur auf Sylt

Sylt war von jeher bei Künstlern beliebt. Egal ob Schriftsteller, Sänger, Schauspieler, Dichter, Maler oder Bildhauer, jeder mit Rang und Namen nutzte Sylt als Treffpunkt oder Inspirationsquelle. Auch heute noch ist die Nordseeinsel eine Hochburg für Kunst und Kultur: zahlreiche Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungen von nationalen und internationalen Künstlern werden jedes Jahr an unterschiedlichsten Stätten angeboten. Junge Künstler können die Angebote zur Förderung und Ausbildung auf Sylt nutzen und so ihre Zukunft auf der Insel gestalten.

Kunsthandwerk & Ausstellungen

Der Osten von Sylt ist ein wahres Paradies für Liebhaber von kleinen Kunsthandwerks-Läden. Hier finden sich viele Goldschmiede und Töpferwerkstätten, aber auch Ledermanufakturen sind auf Sylt zu finden. Stöbern Sie durch die Geschäfte und finden Sie ein wunderschönes Unikat als Erinnerung an Ihren Sylt-Urlaub.

Aktuelle Ausstellungen von Kunstwerken aller Art können Sie auf dieser Seite finden: www.sylt.de/ausstellungen

©Kai Kestner LOVE sign with padlocks at the harbour of List

Museen auf Sylt

Historisch betrachtet gibt es auf Sylt auch einiges zu entdecken. Wie sind die Sylter im 17. und 18. Jahrhundert zu ihrem Wohlstand gekommen? Wie hat man früher in den Häusern am Watt gelebt? Und woraus besteht eigentlich der Torbogen am Eingang des Sylt Museums? Diese Fragen und viele weitere können in den Museen auf der Insel beantwortet werden.
Außerdem gibt es auf Sylt einige naturkundliche Museen und Ausstellungen. Vom Naturpfad bis zum Erlebniszentrum ist alles vertreten. Das Erlebniszentrum Naturgewalten direkt am Lister Hafen bietet spannende Einblicke in die Flora und Fauna der Insel und der Nordsee.

Kunst & Kultur auf Helgoland

Auch Helgoland hat einiges im Bereich Kunst & Kultur zu bieten. Kunstschaffende haben schon immer die Ruhe auf der Hochseeinsel genossen und sich von der Natur und der einzigartigen Atmosphäre inspirieren lassen.

Konzerte & Museen

Jedes Jahr in der Hauptsaison finden auf Helgoland zahlreiche Konzerte klassischer und zeitgenössischer Musik in der Nordseehalle und im Musikpavillon statt. Informationen zu aktuellen Konzerten finden Sie in den Aushangkästen oder der Touristinformation Helgoland.
Das "Museum Helgoland" zeigt die Geschichte Helgolands, das Leben der Inselbewohner und wechselnde Ausstellungen. Im Museumshof können Nachbauten der Hummerbuden besichtigt werden, in jeder Bude ist eine andere Aussstellung zu sehen.

Kunsthandwerk in den Hummerbuden

Kunst von den Helgoländer Inselkünstlern kann unter anderem in den bunten Hummerbuden erworben werden. Stöbern Sie durch die kleinen Geschäfte und finden Sie Unikate, besondere Schmuckstücke oder wunderschöne Deko-Gegenstände. Auch in den Geschäften im Zentrum können Kunstwerke erworben werden.
Wenn Sie eine Pause vom Stöbern und Entdecken brauchen, können Sie sich in einem der Cafés bei den Hummerbuden erholen.